After theramenrater’s list 2014

Ramen Rater’s All-time Top 10 list 2014

Found 8 so far [Updated 4 Aug 2014]:

If you haven’t seen the list yet, here’s my take on it.

#10: Mama Instant Noodles Yentafo Tom Yum Mohfai Flavour – Thailand

Found at: Laguna Oriental Supermarket (QV Precinct, Melbourne)

Taste test: Not too bad. Packet is a bit too small. It is more like a snack. Not too spicy. Has a light sour tom yum taste. A lightweight compared to the rest. wonder how 2 packets might compare.

#9: Nongshim Soon Veggie Noodle Soup – South Korea

Found at: Sol Mart (West Mall, Singapore)

Taste test: A milder flavour compared to the top 3. Actually doesn’t seem that spectacular. Maybe need to do a vegetarian list to compare.

#8: Prima Taste Singapore Chilli Crab La Mian – Singapore

Found at: Crown Asian (Elizabeth St, Melbourne). I refused to buy it because it just seemed ridiculous. Was quite puzzled when I didn’t find it in Singapore [Had little time, so I didn’t go too far, just my usual haunts at West Mall Cold Storage, BB MRT NTUC, IMM Giant. 全军覆没. Will try harder when I get back to sg] UPDATE: Found at ShengSiong Woodlands Centre. YAY!!!

Taste test: I gave in and bought it at Crown Asian. Long story behind it, but in 2 words, National Day! By the time I was ready to try it, I had a lot of bread (baguettes) on hand, so I took half the noodles and cooked it in some leftover soup, and left half to be used with the chilli crab sauce. It was the right idea, as the sauce packet was small and I doubt I would have been as satisfied if I had had to finish the whole pack. I also added some canned crab meat and it really went well together (but canned crabmeat is really problematic as they tend to have much more bits of shell than if you actually peeled the crab yourself). Anyway, it is spicy, chilli hot (enough that I can taste it, but not super hot). Reminded me enough of chilli crab, but not any particular one I’ve had in the past. Don’t like chilli seeds too. But well, overall it is good. Not sure how nice it is without the crabmeat though.

Updated on 11 Apr 2015: Finally tried it without the crabmeat. It was good. I had completely forgotten about the cooking process. My mum loved it. I still don’t like chilli seeds.

#7: Mamee Chef Curry Laksa Flavour  – Malaysia

Found at: Crown Asian (Elizabeth St, Melbourne)

Taste test:- As tasted on 16 Mar 2015. much spicier with the chilli padi. the taste is much closer to curry than laksa. I like that the noodles are short and fit in my spoon easily. When I first tried this, I remembered that it was very hot (spicy) and I decided that the next time I would remove the chilli padi. I’m very glad I did.

#6: Paldo Cheese Noodle – South Korea

Found at: Crown Asian (Elizabeth St, Melbourne)

Taste test:-  very interesting. Tried on 23 sept 2014. The cheese powder is meant to be mixed in after having cooked the noodles + soup base. The smell of the powder was not overwhelming, which is good. After mixing it in, there was just a nice gentle aroma that I wouldn’t otherwise identify as cheese. And it makes me very attracted to the noodles. I really want to finish them (but it’s too big a portion because I had some leftovers before starting on it.) I was slightly worried about how spicy this would be. It turned out to be more peppery than chilli-hot. Definitely special enough to get on this list.

#5: Samyang Foods Maesaengyitangmyun Baked Noodle – South Korea

Found at: – [tell me please?]

Taste test: –

#4: Sapporo Ichiban Otafuku Okonomi Sauce Yakisoba – Japan

Found at: – [tell me please?]

Taste test: –

#3: Prima Taste Singapore Curry La Mian – Singapore

Found at: Giant (IMM, Singapore)

Taste test: Very nice. Interesting curry taste but also doesn’t remind me of any curry I’ve ever had in sg. My mum liked it though.

#2: Prima Taste Singapore Laksa La Mian – Singapore

Found at: Giant (IMM, Singapore)

Taste test: This was wonderful because it smelt just like proper laksa and tasted like proper laksa gravy too. I found the use of la mian noodles quite interesting. Certainly makes it stand out from the other typical instant noodle types. Takes the longest to cook though (all the la mian series have instructions for cooking the noodles for 7mins).

#1: MyKuali Penang White Curry Noodle – Malaysia

Found at: Giant (IMM, Singapore), Dollar Value (West Mall, Singapore)

Taste test: Very flavourful and fragrant. Not sure what the hype is about since I’m not familiar with proper White Curry in the first place, but it’s very nice. (Updated 26 sept) The noodles are very obedient and easier to separate than the korean noodles that come in a circle. and they don’t pull all the rest of the noodles down when some fall out of the spoon. maybe shorter strands.

what say you?

Leave a comment