Groupon Deal Review: Donburi & BBQ – Korean Bento Box

The deal

$8 for one bento box (up to $16.80* value)

Unfortunately, the deal was already slightly disappointing in the way it was presented. The bento lunch boxes were worth $12.80 and the bento dinner boxes were worth $16.80. I decided to get my money’s worth by going for dinner. The bento dinner boxes were supposed to have additional treats in the form of fresh salad, miso soup, an egg roll, Korean pickles and steamed rice.

The experience

I arrived just before 6pm. My choices were limited to the chicken, prawn and vegetarian bentos. I decided on the prawn katsu bento. 

Waiting time: About 10mins, maybe slightly less.

Unfortunately, I had not remembered the details of the deal and had not looked at the menu in detail. It was only when I got home that I realised that they had left out the miso soup and I had not been given any egg rolls.

2013-10-01 18.06.32

The taste test

Rice: It was soft and just moist enough for my liking.

Prawn Katsu: The batter and small succulent prawns were a harmonious combination. The mayonnaise enhanced their taste. It was heavenly.  Can you see the whole prawn inside?

2013-10-01 18.09.03

Fresh salad: The vegetables were fresh and topped with sesame dressing. A tasty combination that I have no complaints about.

Purple cabbage pickles: Subtle and not overpowering. A good refreshing balance to the deep-fried prawn katsu.

Seasoned seaweed: Similar to seasoned seaweed I’ve tasted before in Japanese restaurants. A welcome addition that also balanced the greasiness of the prawn katsu.

Mini Spring Rolls: Contained strips of carrot and cabbage. Normal and unexceptional. An interesting addition to the meal.

Gyoza: The lone gyoza seemed somewhat out of place. I couldn’t really tell what the filling was, but I assumed it was some combination of minced vegetables and meat, probably pork.

Squid ring: The squid ring was done just right. It was not too chewy and the batter was done just right (although it looks overcooked in the picture).

Satiety: 120% It was actually too much for me. I packed half the rice, the spring rolls, the gyoza and the squid ring to go (after having a bite for the taste test).

The verdict

Overall: 3.5 out of 5. Lost points due to the missing egg roll and miso soup. I forgave them since the portion was big and I enjoyed the prawn katsu

What’s it worth? Deal price.

Honestly, if I paid the full price, I would expect unlimited refills of miso soup and more generous helpings of pickles, fresh vegetables, rice and even one more piece of prawn katsu.

Other information

They seemed to be the only stall open in the evening. I had forgotten to check whether any others were open. It was really quiet when I arrived and it was only livened up by the arrival of a group of Korean tourists.

Date of visit: Oct 1 2013

Leave a comment