Trying Campbell’s Country Ladle Creamy Chicken and Heinz Classic Country Chicken

So here’s a picture of what the cans look like.

2013-07-11 15.14.36

Here’s how the Country Ladle Creamy Chicken looks in a bowl.

2013-07-11 17.28.47

I must say I’m more familiar with the taste of Campbell’s soups. I tried this first (as the can is slightly smaller). My first instinct that it was tasty but the texture made it seem really unreal. It was nice and smooth. There were chunks of chicken, mostly bigger than 1/2 inch in size. The chicken is rather dry and chewy. There’s a rather milky taste to the soup. I think there are some pieces of onions as well.

Note: I no longer scrape the sides of cans (all brands). Too many scary warnings from people and articles. Can’t tell whether the Campbell’s I bought were from before or after they stopped using BPA-lined cans.

 

And here’s how the Heinz Classic Country Chicken soup looks like.

2013-07-11 17.24.59

So the Country Chicken seems much more real in terms of looks and taste, though it is more yellow and I’m not sure what would make it so. The texture is not as smooth and uniform as the Creamy Chicken. It is more watery (less thick). And I can taste more chicken in the soup. Given its name ‘Country Chicken’ I can’t help but think it tastes more earthy. It seems to have more chicken chunks but I can’t be sure. The chunks are smaller, mostly about 1cm or less. I like this about the soup. I would consider this less salty than the Creamy Chicken. Taken in a mouthful, I like the taste of the chicken here better.

I’d say if I didn’t compare it with Campbell’s, Heinz would do just fine. Unfortunately, if I were to go for the ‘familiar’, my Campbell’s-trained palate would want more Campbell’s.

Interestingly, I have to point out that Heinz actually contains more sodium per 100g (279mg compared to Campbell’s 295mg). That being said, I seem to remember reading something about how the source of sodium makes a difference (e.g. what other natural minerals are bound with the sodium, hence there being a different between sea salt, rock salt, and non-naturally-sourced salt)

Not sure which one I’d buy again. Probably Campbell’s.

 

The peas are all mashed up and I couldn’t scrape everything out of the can (loses a few points here).  It’s less soupy, has a thicker texture. More tasty! I can taste more in the soup, the ham, the peas. There are whole peas, beans, carrots, ham in there as well. It’s a bit of a mystery soup because I really can’t tell what else is in there. I wasn’t anal enough to take a picture of the ingredients but I’m sure we can find that somewhere online.  It is really quite filling~! good!

Leave a comment