Groupon Deal Review: Cone Heads – Fish and Chips

The deal

$6 for fish and chips, calamari and chips or chicken and chips (worth up to $11.90*)

The experience

Have you seen the tables at Cone Head? They have holes for the cones! How cool is that?

According to the menu, the fish and chips is “chips with tempura fish fillets, garlic mayo, lemon”. I only understood the significance when my cone was given to me.

Waiting time: About 7 mins.

Oh my. This was definitely a LARGE portion.

2013-10-20 17.27.35

The taste test

Fries: Tasty. Not too salty. Heavy for the portion size. Filled almost the whole cone. It passed my cold fries test. A large serving of Cone Head Chips would normally cost $5.90.

Tempura Fish Fillets: Wonderful. They were hot and soft on the inside, lightly crispy on the outside. But there were only 3 pieces! They should probably change the name of the item on the menu to Chips and Fish, which would fit the description as well!

Garlic Mayo: Strong garlic taste with the rich creaminess of mayonnaise. It was heavenly, but too small a portion for such a large cone of chips. Garlic mayo normally costs 60 cents with an order of chips. It made me want to run home to make some garlic mayo. Except I had no idea how.

Lemon: a nice large slice of lemon which flavoured enough fries to delay the start of consuming the garlic mayo. I felt like I was rationing my food.

Satiety: 200% This was straight up enough for 2 meals for me.

The verdict

Overall: 3.5 out of 5. I like chips, but prefer fries. The portion is too large for me. It didn’t help that they gave a miserly portion of garlic mayo dip (and I don’t really like tomato sauce which was free). Tempura fish fillets boosted the marks.

What’s it worth? Slightly more than Deal price.

Their fish and chips usually cost $11.90, which meant that financially I had made the deal worth my while (of the 3 choices, chicken and chips was the least worth it as it usually costs $9.90).  However, a quick calculation showed that the 3 pieces of tempura fish fillet were worth $5.40 under usual circumstances – almost $2 a piece! I wouldn’t pay that much nowadays. They weren’t big pieces and only added up to 1 serving of protein.

 

Date tried: Oct 20, 2013

Leave a comment