Groupon Deal Review: Movenpick $20 to spend in-store at Melbourne QV

The deal

When the deal caught my eye, it was a deal to pay $5 for $10 to spend in-store. However, I had taken too long to decide on the purchase and those vouchers were sold out. Instead, the deal was to pay $10 for $20 to spend in-store.

The experience

Once again, my desires got in the way of getting the best and easiest deal to make my money’s worth. It would have been simple and straightforward if I had simply purchased a medium sized take home pack (9 scoops of up to 4 flavours). However, I had visualised myself eating waffles the night before, and I didn’t want to disappoint myself.

Hence, I chose a Waffle Obsession, a small cappuccino and a piccolo latte, which cost a total of $20.15, slightly losing out on the deal ($5.15 for $20.15 worth of food and beverage.)

I forgot to time the service, but I reckon it took at least 10 minutes.

Waffles, ice cream and coffee at Movenpick

Waffle obsession, small cappuccino, piccolo latte.

The taste test
Waffle Obsession consisted of  2 pieces of waffle, 2 scoops of ice cream (fixed flavours – creme brulee and caramelita), 4 pieces of strawberries (= 1 strawberry), caramel sauce and a sprinkle of praline nuts

Waffles: nice and fluffy

Caramelita ice cream (described in the menu as “The ultimate dream for sweet teeth! Temptingly sweet pieces of caramel in a rich and creamy ice cream.”)

After a while, it became a little too buttery for my liking. I think I now know how to interpret the use of the words ‘rich and creamy’ in Movenpick’s menu. There were plenty of pieces of caramel, as promised in the description.

Creme brulee ice cream (described as “Traditional Creme Brulee in the form of an ice cream: the perfect transformation)

I thought it was more ‘creme’ than ‘brulee’. This flavour is very mild, which slightly disappoints, as there is less than a hint of vanilla (whereas I’m rather used to a strong hint of the traditional flavour of creme brulee). But it contrasted well with the rich caramelita ice cream, which was good.

In summary, the coffee was a little too bitter for my liking.

Piccolo latte – 2 sticks of raw sugar did not suffice. I was satisfied only after adding a few spoons of melted creme brulee ice cream (about 5 teaspoons worth. poured from the ice cream dish)
Cappuccino – Strangely enough, it was overpowered by the 2 sticks of sugar added, becoming sugared water with strong coffee. Unfortunately, I had no more ice cream to add.

Satiety: 150% This was like having a long lunch and high tea over 4 hours. It was an afternoon to remember!

The verdict

3.5 out of 5. Limited flavours of ice cream for waffles was slightly disappointing. as was the bitterness of the coffee. The overall meal was satisfying.

What’s it worth? Slightly above Deal price. It was a satisfying portion but not amazing enough in taste.

Date tried: Oct 31, 2013

Leave a comment